Are you thinking How old do you have to be to drive a golf cart? Most parents and kids or youngsters may have this question in their minds. This question especially hit on the mind of parents. Because it’s not a matter of wonder that kids or children want to drive their family cart for having fun.
Having fun while driving is not a big deal. But if it brings anything unwanted like accidents then it’s not fun at all. Hence, there is an age restrictions law to prevent children or youngsters from driving golf carts. To keep your cart safe as possible as you can you have to follow and maintain the laws and regulations. Here is an important thing to know that these laws and regulations can shift according to the state.
After reading the above section do you have a mess on your head about this law? Nothing to worry about. In this article, you’ll find a clear view and idea about the age limit for driving a golf cart. You will also find some extra information about the golf cart.
Golf Cart Definition
The actual definition of a golf cart may vary from state to state. In many states, seat capacity, weight, and maximal speed are the determinant factor of whether a certain vehicle can be regarded as a golf cart or not. From this, we can say a golf cart is a vehicle that is meant to
- Hold golf accessories
- Function on a golf course
- Use for recreational purpose
- Carry maximal two people
- Cart empty weight no more than 13,00 pounds and
- Run not more than 20 miles per hour
If you want to know more about golf cart weight then read our article How much does a golf cart weigh in the blog section.
Though speed limits and empty weight may vary on local law. Speed limits from 15 to 35 miles per hour and weight limit up to 1,800 pounds. If the golf cart’s speed and weight are beyond the local law, then it is no more able to call a golf cart. In this situation, the driver of these carts should follow the law and regulations preserved for motor vehicles like cars and trucks. Which also include driving age limitation.
How Old Do You Have To Be To Drive A Golf Cart
Like golf cart definition age limit also vary from state to state. There is no universal age limit for driving a golf cart. The regulation about the age limit in your state may not legal in other states. As a result, you have to be careful about this before you let a kid or youngster navigate a golf cart.
Most of the states have an age limit of 14. This means the least age limit for driving a cart is 14 years. Though states like California and South Carolina allow children above 13 years old to drive golf carts. In Texas, the age limit is around 16.
Want to know how long do golf cart batteries last? Then you can read our other post in the blog section.
You might be thinking do I need a driving license to operate a golf cart? There is no frank answer to this question. Because in most states, you don’t need a driving license to ride a golf cart. But in Texas, you need a driving license to drive your cart on public land. Hence, you need to have at least sixteen years of age to drive here.
As we said earlier regulations vary from state to state. In most areas, the age limit is fourteen years for children to operate a golf cart on public property. Yet in some states, 13 years old children also allowed to operate a golf cart. So you have to keep in mind all those factors before getting on a cart.
Before you take your cart on public roads make sure your cart is registered and licensed. Some states also put restrictions on how and when to function a golf cart. The speed limit for a cart is 25 to 40 miles per hour or less. You can operate your golf carts only during daylight hours (sunrise to sunset). However, here is a fact to know. Most states relieve golf carts from registration and insurance requirements. There is a reason behind it. That’s these states don’t allow golf carts to be operated on public property or streets.
LAW FOR DRIVING ON PRIVATE PROPERTY
Though there are some rules and regulations for driving a golf cart on public property. In private property, the laws tend to differ as the owner sets the rules and regulations. For operating a golf cart in your private land, you are free to set rules and regulations.
This kind of freedom can bring dangerous situations. For example, minors can operate a golf cart on private property. Though they can’t take a golf cart on public property. If they take the golf cart out and anything wrong happens then you have to face legal issues. That’s why you have to keep in mind the fact before you let minors drive a cart.
Certain golf courses put age and speed limit restrictions on the drivers. In these cases, you are not free to set rules and regulations.
Charge For traffic violations
Be aware of the laws and regulations before you operate a golf cart on public property. Keep in mind the limitations of speed and drive safely. Otherwise, you have to pay fines for traffic violations. Don’t ride in a place that does not allow a golf cart such as sections of the highway. If you do so then you have to compensate for violating the law.
Consider Capabilities and Safety
Don’t let youngsters ride a cart just because you are legally allowed to do so. You can let a minor drive on your own property. But make sure the safety. Because there is a chance of flipping while driving a cart. That’s why individuals need certain skills and reflex actions for operating a cart. Thus, don’t courage anyone to drive a cart if they don’t meet these standards.
If my golf cart has headlights can I ride at night?
In Florida, you can ride a golf cart during daylight. However, Different states can have different laws about riding a golf cart at night.
Like in the villages of Florida, you can ride your golf cart at night also. For this, you have to make sure that you have headlights, brake lights, turn signals, and reflective forecast devices. Keep in mind that, you have to use your headlights 30 minutes after sunrise and 30 minutes before sunset. you have to switch your headlights on in the rain.
As you now know how old do you have to drive a golf cart. If you don’t meet the age limit then don’t operate a golf cart on the public road. Not only these don’t let others who also don’t meet the standards. If you meet the standards then follow the other rules and regulations while driving a golf cart and ensure safety.